Helpshift allows Administrators to edit messages and end actions for published and disabled custom bots.

To edit custom bots,

  1. Navigate to Settings > WorkFlows > Bots and click Custom Bots. The Bots page displays the list of published, unpublished, and disabled Custom Bots.
  2. Click the Custom Bot which you want to edit. The Edit Bots page appears. It also displays the number of ongoing issues, if any.
  3. In the Edit Bots page, click the gear icon ⚙to open the Bot Info modal.
  4. You can edit the ‘Name’, ‘Nickname’ fields and click Save to update and save the Bot Info. However, the given ‘Email’ field is non-editable.
    Note: For unpublished bots, click the Publish button to publish and then edit the Bot Info.
  5. For published and disabled bots, click the Edit button to edit the following type of steps:
    1. Send a message
    2. Get Information from user
    3. End conversation flow
  6. For the step type Send a message, you can edit the following fields:
    1. Step Name
    2. Bot Message
  7. Click Done to view the updated information.
  8. For the step type ‘Get Information from a user’, you can edit the following fields:
    1. Step Name
    2. Bot Message
    3. Skip Label
    4. User Reply Format (You can edit and reorder the list of text options)
  9. Click Done to view the updated information.
  10. For the step type ‘End conversation flow’, you can edit the following fields: 
    1. Step Name
    2. Bot Message
    3. Issue Actions
    4. You can also edit an existing action or add a new action by clicking the Add Action button.
  11. Click Done to view the updated information.
  12. Once the steps are edited, click the Save Changes button to confirm and apply all the changes to ongoing and new conversations assigned to a Bot.
    Note: For unpublished bots, both the Save Changes and Save and Publish buttons exist. All the changes are autosaved and the last saved time is updated.
  13. If you want to discard the changes, click the Discard Changes button and confirm.
    Note: If you want to continue with editing bots, click the Continue Editing button.
  14. Published bots, once edited, will immediately reflect the latest changes, even for existing conversations.