Helpshift structures Issue management to prevent the creation of multiple open Issues by the same user.
For in-app issues, if the user already has an open, unresolved Issue, the SDK is set up so that the user can only communicate with support via that same Issue. Only if all previous Issues have been resolved can the user start a new conversation and thus initiate the creation of a new Issue.
When a user uninstalls an app, their Device ID is changed. This is a security setting set by Apple as well as Google. Since Helpshift conversations are grouped by Device ID, this means that a second Issue created following an app reinstall will create an entirely new Issue. This is an edge case and is likely to arise very rarely.
To learn how this applies to email support, see What happens if a user sends multiple emails to the support alias?